Manor House in Čakany


Address and contact details

Čakany 7, 93040

Čakany, slovensko

Continue to website


Share this page

footer twitter icon email share icon footer facebook icon

This Baroque manor house was built in the last third of the 17th century, modified in 1712, and rebuilt in 1824. It was commissioned by Archbishop Juraj Szelepcsényi.

It is a two-story rectangular structure featuring four diagonally set corner towers. The seven-bay main facade facing the street is articulated by pilasters with moldings and stucco ornamentation. The entrance portal, set in a wide frame, features a stone cartouche with a coat of arms in its supraporte. The rectangular windows are decorated with stucco ornaments both above and below the sill moldings.

A double-return staircase leads from the central entrance hall to the upper floor. On the northern side of both the ground and upper levels runs a corridor covered with Bohemian vaults (sail vaults). The southern side of the ground floor contains living quarters and a corridor covered with barrel vaults featuring stucco decoration. The rooms adjoining the corner towers feature lunette vaults, while the rooms on the upper floor have flat ceilings.

A smaller French-style park originally surrounded the manor house, which has been designated a protected area.

The manor house currently accommodates a therapeutic-educational sanatorium.